Hulk No More! (2009) Reading Order

Who is the Red Hulk? And is the fixation on his identity distracting everyone from an even bigger mystery? Ben Urich and Peter Parker join the sensational She-Hulk on a mission to discover the truth. They may not get the answers they’re looking for, but they will witness a drastic change in the original Hulk

SCROLL DOWN to the bottom for the KEY COLLECTED EDITIONS for this event!

Minor Crossover: The Hulk issues acts as a prologue to the Incredible Hulk story.

Must Reads: Story arcs marked with a ✔are must-read stories from this time period, along with any key related stories and often-forgotten tales that are worth a read.

Anthology Issues: When an issue contains multiple stories, the relevant story is denoted with square brackets. For example, [2/5] refers to the second story of the five stories in that issue, so you don’t need to read the other four. 

Previous events that directly impact this story:

  • GREEN HULK/RED HULK – Introducing the Red Hulk
  • DARK REIGN – Norman Osborn takes the reins of the Avengers

Want to keep it simple? Here’s the chronological reading order without story descriptions, or spoilers:

  • Incredible Hulk #600 [1/4]
  • Hulk #13

SUSCRIBE TO THE OMNIVERSE COMICS GUIDE today and unlock bonus features! Gain access to Subscriber Exclusives, all of the Trackable Digital Reading Orders and Bonus Video Content that you won’t find on our YouTube or podcasts. Navigate your way through multiple comic universes with us, your gateway to all things comics!

Prefer Patreon? You can support the OCG through out Patreon Page too

Must ReadsTitle, Issue Number & Synopsis
Incredible Hulk #600 [1/4]
A terrified She-Hulk asks Front Line reporter Ben Urich and photographer Peter Parker to join her and Doc Samson in infiltrating a new, top secret Gamma Base in Las Vegas to learn the truth about the Red Hulk. They discover a much larger conspiracy, with MODOK heading up experiments on A-Bomb (the gamma-mutated Rick Jones) and Bruce Banner. Thunderbolt Ross and a crew of SHIELD agents look on as brainwashed accomplices. Samson takes on an evil persona and attacks She-Hulk. Peter swiftly dons his Spider-Man costume when the Red Hulk. Banner transforms into the Hulk and launches at Red Hulk who drains his gamma energy, leaving a powerless and unconscious Brice Banner. A-Bomb takes Banner to safety when the base explodes. Urich and Parker manage to get to the suface. Later, Ben Urich is visited by the Red Hulk who warns him not to share the story.

Must ReadsTitle, Issue Number & Synopsis
Hulk #13
Norman Osborn sends Ares to investigate the rumour that Bruce Banner is now powerless. A-Bomb finds Bruce hiding in one of the old bunkers he originally used to lock up the Hulk. Ares arrives and threatens to decapitate A-Bomb if Banner doesn’t change into the Hulk. Banner tricks Ares and shuts him in the vault, allowing Banner and A-Bomb to leave. The next day, Ares reports back to Osborn that the Hulk is no more. Banner parts company with A-Bomb and hits the road alone…

Must ReadsIssue & FalloutEvent / Crossover
Incredible Hulk #601-603 (2009)
The Avengers and Fantastic Four confirm Bruce Banner is clear of gamma radiation; Banner reunites with his son Skaar and takes him under his wing.
Dark Reign – The List: Hulk #1 (2009)
Bruce Banner disrupts Norman Osborn’s plans once again

Incredible Hulk #604 (2009)
Bruce Banner and A-Bomb are reunited.
Incredible Hulk #606 (2010)
MODOK is revealed to have survived the explosion.
Fall of the Hulks: Alpha #1 (2010)
MODOK is revealed to be part of a larger group called the Intelligencia made up of the smartest villains in the world; it’s revealed that the Intelligencia are behind the creation of the Red Hulk.

Hulk #21 (2010)
The war that Ben Urich alludes to begins when the Intelligencia use the Cathexis Ray to transform AIM soldiers and costumed heroes into Hulks.

Fall of the Hulks: The Savage She-Hulks #1 (2010)
The new She-Hulk (Lyra of Earth-8009) discovers the original She-Hulk (Jennifer Walters) is a prisoner of the Intelligencia.
Hulk #23 (2010)
Red Hulk is revealed to be General ‘Thunderbolt’ Ross – part of a plan by AIM and the Intelligencia.

Incredible Hulk #610 (2010)
Doc Samson breaks the Intelligencia’s control and redeems himself before he’s killed in battle; Bruce Banner absorbsgamma energy to prevent an explosion which forces his transformation into the Hulk again.
Incredible Hulks #612 (2010)
Hulk, A-Bomb, She-Hulk and other gamma-powered individuals unofficially form the Hulk Family (editorially referred to as the Incredible Hulks).
Hulk #6 (2014)
Hulk’s ‘Doc Green’ persona removes Rick Jones’ A-Bomb powers.

Hulk #10 (2015)
‘Doc Green’ depowers the Red Hulk.

See how this story fits into the wider Marvel Universe continuity with these reading orders:

Collected Edition TitleIncludes…
Hulk vol.3: Hulk No MoreHulk #13
Incredible Hulk #600
Hulk by Loeb & McGuinness OmnibusHulk #13
Incredible Hulk #600
Hulk by Loeb & McGuinness – The Complete Collection vol.1Hulk #13
Incredible Hulk #600
Hulk: Hulk No More OHCHulk #13
Incredible Hulk #600

Reading Order ©OmniverseComicsGuide 2023

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: